Diocese Logo


A vocation to Consecrated Life is an invitation to devote one’s being to the service of the Church. A vocation to a particular form of Consecrated Life requires discernment. True discernment involves investigation of the various form of Consecrated Life. In the past the generic term religious life included all forms of consecration. Since Vatican II each of the various forms of religious life is listed separately. Each community living or working within the Diocese of Worcester has a link and the vocation material for that group is available at this link.  Each community welcomes questions concerning the work and the charism of the community.
For information concerning the Consecration of Virgins contact the United States Association of Consecrated Virgins at their link, or the Office of the Vicar of Religious
For information concerning Secular Institutes contact the United States Conference of Secular Institutes at / or the Office of the Vicar of Religious.
For information concerning the Eremitic Life please contact the Office of the Vicar of Religious.

Religious Communities of Men

AA –
Augustinians of the Assumption (Assumptionists)

Brothers of St. Francis Xavier (Xaverian Brothers)

CP –
Congregation of the Passion (Passionist Priests and Brothers)

Congregation of the Sacred Stigmata (Stigmatines)

Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer (Redemptorists)

MS –
Missionaries of Our Lady of LaSalette (LaSalette Missionaries)

Order of Cistercians of the Strict Observance (Trappists at Spencer Abbey)

Maronite Monks of the Most Holy Trinity

OSB – Order of St. Benedict (Benedictines of Petersham)

Order of St. Benedict (Benedictines of Still River)

OSCam – Order of St. Camillus (Camillians)

SSC – Society of St. Columban (Columbans)

SJ –
Society of Jesus (Jesuits)

Religious Communities of Women

Sisters of the Congregation of Notre Dame

CSE - Carmelite Sisters of the Eucharist

CSFN – Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth

CSJ – Congregation of Sisters of St. Joseph of Boston

CSSF – Congregation of Sisters of St. Felix of Cantalice

DHS – Daughters of the Holy Spirit

FIHM – Franciscan Sisters of Immaculate Heart of Mary (India)

LSA – Little Sisters of the Assumption

MICM - Sisters of St. Benedict Center, Slaves of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (Saint Anne's House)

MICM – Slaves of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (Immaculate Heart of Mary School)

Religious Venerini Sisters

OP – Order of Dominicans

OSB – Order of St. Benedict – Petersham

Sisters of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary

PFM – Little Franciscan Sisters of Mary

PM – Sisters of the Presentation of Mary

RA – Religious of the Assumption

RODA – Sister Oblates of Divine Love

Religious Sisters of Mercy of the Americas

SASV – Sisters of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin

SND – Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur

SP – Sisters of Providence

SSA – Sisters of St. Anne

SSJ – Sisters of St. Joseph of Springfield

XMM – Xaverian Missionary Society of Mary